Parliament Website

Humanitarian Situation In Northern Uganda

EDM number 824 in 2003-04, proposed by Angus Robertson on 15/03/2004.

That this House deplores the 21st February attacks by the Lord's Resistance Army in Barlonyo internally displaced person's camp, where over 240 defenceless men, women and children were massacred; notes that this was the second attack on a refugee camp in three weeks; sends its condolences to the families of the victims; congratulates the Member of Parliament for Mwenge South, Dora Byamukama, for tabling a motion and making a compelling humanitarian and moral case which persuaded her parliamentary colleagues unanimously to vote to declare northern Uganda a disaster area; supports the action by the EU Head of Delegation in Uganda. Ambassador Mr Sigurd Illing, who led the donor community in endorsing Ms Byamukama's motion and calling on the Ugandan People's Defence Forces to provide adequate security to the vulnerable people in the refugee camps; regrets the decision by the Ugandan authorities to reject the parliamentary motion; believes that it is only by declaring the war-ravaged region a disaster area that the international community can effectively respond with adequate humanitarian aid, which is desperately needed; and therefore calls on Her Majesty's Government to do all in its power to persuade the Ugandan Government to respect the will of its parliament, co-operate with the donor community, and declare northern Uganda a disaster area as a matter or urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Angus Robertson15/03/2004MorayScottish National PartyProposed
Bob Spink15/03/2004Castle PointConservativeSigned
Simon Thomas15/03/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones16/03/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Burnside16/03/2004South AntrimUUPSigned
Martin Caton16/03/2004GowerLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing16/03/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Andrew George16/03/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock16/03/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths17/03/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Rudi Vis17/03/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Tyler17/03/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell17/03/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alice Mahon17/03/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Martin Smyth17/03/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Alan Simpson18/03/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones18/03/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore18/03/2004HendonLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge22/03/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett22/03/2004Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard22/03/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
Hywel Francis22/03/2004AberavonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer22/03/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Tony Colman22/03/2004PutneyLabourSigned
Sue Doughty22/03/2004GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris23/03/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Ann McKechin23/03/2004Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael23/03/2004Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blizzard23/03/2004WaveneyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/03/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Drew24/03/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Valerie Davey25/03/2004Bristol WestLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/03/2004Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd26/03/2004Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn26/03/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon29/03/2004North DownUUPSigned
Betty Williams29/03/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Simon Hughes30/03/2004North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams22/04/2004CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Julia Drown26/04/2004South SwindonLabourSigned
Huw Edwards30/04/2004MonmouthLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge10/05/2004Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Tony McWalter17/05/2004Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.