Parliament Website

Network Rail Maintenance And The London Underground

EDM number 881 in 2003-04, proposed by John McDonnell on 22/03/2004.

That this House welcomes the decision of Network Rail to bring all maintenance back in-house on the national network; notes that Network Rail has stated that the decision will bring the benefits of a single integrated rail maintenance operation and management structure, which will improve track safety and standards of rail maintenance; further notes with deep concern the derailments on the London Underground; believes that in the light of the Network Rail decision it is now untenable to have fragmented maintenance on the Underground or to allow the same companies, such as Jarvis, that have been removed from maintenance contracts on the national railway to continue to profit from declining safety standards on the Tube; and calls on the Government urgently to authorise the renegotiation of the PPP contracts with a view to bringing all maintenance and renewals under the direct control of London Underground.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John McDonnell22/03/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourProposed
Gwyn Prosser22/03/2004DoverLabourSigned
Robert Wareing22/03/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Simon Thomas22/03/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
David Taylor22/03/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harold Best22/03/2004Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes22/03/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
John Austin22/03/2004Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Hamilton22/03/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
Ian Gibson22/03/2004Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard22/03/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Drew22/03/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jim Dobbin22/03/2004Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ian Davidson22/03/2004Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cryer22/03/2004HornchurchLabourSigned
Ann Cryer22/03/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen22/03/2004Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Clapham22/03/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Martin Caton22/03/2004GowerLabourSigned
Denis Murphy22/03/2004WansbeckLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell22/03/2004Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara22/03/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon22/03/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd22/03/2004Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones22/03/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle22/03/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/03/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh22/03/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/03/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/03/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Smyth23/03/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Desmond Turner23/03/2004Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Linda Perham23/03/2004Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price24/03/2004Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Dennis Skinner24/03/2004BolsoverLabourSigned
Tony McWalter24/03/2004Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cummings24/03/2004EasingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore25/03/2004HendonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean26/03/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Nigel Jones30/03/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris31/03/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis31/03/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Pugh01/04/2004SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley01/04/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Tom Cox01/04/2004TootingLabourSigned
Terry DavisUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.