Parliament Website

Twentieth Anniversary Of The Bhopal Disaster

EDM number 234 in 2004-05, proposed by Harry Cohen on 30/11/2004.

That this House is aware that on 3rd December 1984 poisonous gas leaked from the Union Carbide pesticide factory in Bhopal, India; notes that Amnesty International has reported that 7,000 people died in the immediate aftermath, that a further, 15,000 have died of related diseases since 1984, and that 100,000 people still suffer from chronic and debilitating illnesses as a consequence of the leak; further notes that Union Carbide was guilty of storing this ultra hazardous gas without regard to proper safety arrangements, that no individuals, including in management, have been brought to account for the leak and its consequences, and that neither Union Carbide nor the subsequent purchaser Dow Chemicals has done enough to clean up the site or compensate the victims; further notes that toxic wastes still pollute the environment and contaminate the water that communities in the area depend on, that the 1989 deal between the Indian Government and Union Carbide of ú470 million in exchange for an end to legal proceedings was not in the best interest of victims and the successful claimants have only received a pittance in compensation, that thousands of claims remain outstanding, and that the Reserve Bank of Inda has pocketed ú330 million of the ú470 million which should have been paid to survivors; and believes that not enough has been done in the last 20 years to ensure there is no repeat of a Bhopal disaster in either the developing or developed world and that the findings and judgment of the Permanent People's Tribunal on Industrial Hazards and Human Rights, disclosed on 2nd December 1994, still represents the best analysis and recommendations for law changes and enforcement in individual states and internationally to avoid any recurrence.

This motion has been signed by a total of 72 MPs.

Harry Cohen30/11/2004Leyton & WansteadLabourProposed
Andrew George30/11/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore01/12/2004HendonLabourSigned
Harry Barnes01/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Norman Baker01/12/2004LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock01/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths01/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Michael Clapham01/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/12/2004Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed01/12/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell01/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alice Mahon01/12/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Norman Lamb01/12/2004North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson01/12/2004Hampstead & HighgateLabourSigned
Syd Rapson01/12/2004Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Linda Perham01/12/2004Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes02/12/2004ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler02/12/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell02/12/2004Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin02/12/2004Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Drew02/12/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tony Colman02/12/2004PutneyLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/12/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd02/12/2004Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
David Lepper02/12/2004Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Simon Hughes02/12/2004North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey02/12/2004North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh02/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Adam Price02/12/2004Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Austin Mitchell06/12/2004Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Betty Williams06/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Brian White06/12/2004North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Robert Wareing06/12/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis06/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard06/12/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
Bill Etherington06/12/2004Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Huw Edwards06/12/2004MonmouthLabourSigned
Richard Burden06/12/2004Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Patsy Calton06/12/2004CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice06/12/2004PendleLabourSigned
Lynne Jones06/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/12/2004Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Rob Marris06/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke06/12/2004Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Pound07/12/2004Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/12/2004LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Terry Lewis07/12/2004WorsleyLabourSigned
Tom Cox07/12/2004TootingLabourSigned
Ann Cryer07/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge07/12/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross07/12/2004TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton08/12/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing08/12/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Jeff Ennis08/12/2004Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Nigel Jones08/12/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2004JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable13/12/2004TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Stinchcombe20/12/2004WellingboroughLabourSigned
Tony Clarke21/12/2004Northampton SouthLabourSigned
John Barrett10/01/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden17/01/2005Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/01/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Greg Pope03/02/2005HyndburnLabourSigned
Russell Brown09/02/2005DumfriesLabourSigned
Tony McWalter25/02/2005Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jon Cruddas23/03/2005DagenhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.