Parliament Website

Christian Community In Iraq

EDM number 342 in 2004-05, proposed by Stephen Pound on 07/12/2004.

That this House is deeply concerned by the mass exodus of Iraqi Christians which has decimated Iraq's ancient Chaldo-Assyrian community; notes that the Chaldo-Assyrians make up over 95 per cent. of Iraq's Christians and that this exodus has been largely caused by escalating violence against Christians from Fanatical terrorists, including the bombing of over 10 churches, the 1st August church bombings that killed 12 people and the assassination of over 100 Iraqi Christians since April 2003; further notes that there has been illegal expropriation of Chaldo-Assyrian land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plains in northern Iraq, thereby depriving many Christians of their homes and livelihood; recognises that Iraqi Christians are among the major forces for moderation, who together with moderate Muslims can act as a significant buffer against the spread of extremism in Iraq; and calls on the British Government urgently to encourage and support the creation of an Autonomous Administrative Region in Iraq for the Chaldo-Assyrians, as promised in Aricle 53(d) of Iraq's Transitional Administrative Law, the Administrative Region to be situated in and around the Nineveh Plains and in Dohuk Province, the ancestral homeland of the Chaldo-Assyrians which is still heavily populated by them, financially to support the reconstruction of Chaldo-Assyrian villages and infrastructure, to provide across-the-board political support to the Chaldo-Assyrians, to assist the Chaldo-Assyrians in reclaiming their land and villages in Dohuk Province and the Nineveh Plains and to support financially the return and resettlement of Chaldo-Assyrian refugees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Stephen Pound07/12/2004Ealing NorthLabourProposed
Russell Brown07/12/2004DumfriesLabourSigned
Michael Weir08/12/2004AngusScottish National PartySigned
Andrew George08/12/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Iain Luke08/12/2004Dundee EastLabourSigned
Joan Humble08/12/2004Blackpool North & FleetwoodLabourSigned
Martin Smyth08/12/2004Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Rob Marris09/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Paul Tyler09/12/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor09/12/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mike Hancock09/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths09/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
David Drew09/12/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Wayne David09/12/2004CaerphillyLabourSigned
John Cummings09/12/2004EasingtonLabourSigned
Richard Burden09/12/2004Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon09/12/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Edward Leigh09/12/2004GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/12/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon09/12/2004North DownUUPSigned
Gordon Prentice09/12/2004PendleLabourSigned
Greg Pope09/12/2004HyndburnLabourSigned
David Burnside13/12/2004South AntrimUUPSigned
Betty Williams13/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
John Wilkinson13/12/2004Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis13/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Simon Thomas13/12/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Annabelle Ewing13/12/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean13/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Valerie Davey13/12/2004Bristol WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis13/12/2004AberavonLabourSigned
Parmjit Dhanda14/12/2004GloucesterLabourSigned
Bob Spink14/12/2004Castle PointConservativeSigned
Roy Beggs14/12/2004East AntrimUUPSigned
Marsha Singh15/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Anne Campbell15/12/2004CambridgeLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara16/12/2004Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Paul Marsden20/12/2004Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell20/12/2004Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh21/12/2004SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Clarke21/12/2004Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Denzil Davies21/12/2004LlanelliLabourSigned
David Borrow21/12/2004South RibbleLabourSigned
Alan Meale10/01/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Phil Willis11/01/2005Harrogate & KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Chaytor25/01/2005Bury NorthLabourSigned
Parmjit Gill06/04/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.