Parliament Website

Television Coverage Of Cricket

EDM number 378 in 2004-05, proposed by John Grogan on 13/12/2004.

That this House notes that the Management Board of the England and Wales Cricket Board will soon make a decision on a new television deal to replace the current arrangements, which run out at the conclusion of the Ashes series in 2005; regrets that since 2000 cricket test matches are no longer listed events which must be made available to all viewers on terrestrial television; recalls the assurances given in 2000 by the England and Wales Cricket Board that they would seek to maintain terrestrial coverage in order to encourage participation and allow young and old, rich and poor to view the very best the game can offer; regrets the fact that there was no terrestrial television coverage of the Cricket World Cup in 2003 and is alarmed by reports that Sky may be awarded the bulk of live coverage of test matches; and urges the ECB Management Board and its Chairman David Morgan to safeguard the long-term interests of the game by making a terrestrial television company its broadcasting partner.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

John Grogan13/12/2004SelbyLabourProposed
Eric Illsley13/12/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Ian Lucas13/12/2004WrexhamLabourSigned
Rob Marris13/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Michael Mates13/12/2004East HampshireConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Sue Doughty13/12/2004GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson13/12/2004Norwich NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor13/12/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Simon Thomas13/12/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Jenny Tonge14/12/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley14/12/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock14/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths14/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell14/12/2004East LondonderryDUPSigned
John McDonnell14/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell14/12/2004ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson14/12/2004Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Colin Pickthall14/12/2004West LancashireLabourSigned
Peter Bradley14/12/2004Wrekin, TheLabourSigned
Harry Barnes15/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/12/2004Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/12/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch15/12/2004HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones15/12/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon15/12/2004Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara15/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price16/12/2004Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Dennis Skinner16/12/2004BolsoverLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/12/2004HendonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Marsha Singh20/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Lynne Jones20/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bob Spink20/12/2004Castle PointConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle21/12/2004ChorleyLabourSigned
Tony Colman21/12/2004PutneyLabourSigned
Mike Gapes21/12/2004Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
Janet Dean11/01/2005BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew11/01/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby12/01/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.