Parliament Website

Belmarsh Judgement

EDM number 426 in 2004-05, proposed by Kevin McNamara on 20/12/2004.

That this House welcomes the historic ruling of the House of Lords on 16th December, granting the appeal of nine individuals detained at HMP Belmarsh and elsewhere under Part IV of the Anti-Terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001; notes that the House of Lords has quashed the derogation under Article 5 of the European Convention on Human Rights; further notes the Declaration of the House of Lords that Part IV of the ATCSA 2001 is incompatible with the ECHR; further notes the resignation of the Special Immigration Appeals Commission special advocate, Ian McDonald QC; recalls the strong reservations on this Part expressed by the Joint Committee on Human Rights of both Houses and of the Privy Councillor Review Committee; further notes the concerns of domestic and international non-governmental organisations; believes that derogation from international human rights obligations is injurious to the standing of Britain in the world and causes profound damage to community relations domestically; further believes that detention without trial represents a breakdown of the rule of law and can only hinder protection of public safety and security; further believes that detainees must be promptly charged and brought before a court of law or released and returned to their families; and urges Her Majesty's Government to bring forward legislative changes to the Act in order to conform to the judgement of the House of Lords and respond to the concerns of the JCHR and Privy Councillor Review Committee.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Kevin McNamara20/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourProposed
Alice Mahon20/12/2004HalifaxLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews20/12/2004MedwayLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott20/12/2004Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Tom Cox21/12/2004TootingLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/12/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley21/12/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Simon Thomas21/12/2004CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Robert Wareing21/12/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey10/01/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis10/01/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Colin Breed10/01/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones10/01/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/01/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes10/01/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price10/01/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd11/01/2005Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Vincent Cable11/01/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton11/01/2005GowerLabourSigned
Harry Cohen11/01/2005Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/01/2005Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mark Oaten12/01/2005WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/01/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Glenda Jackson12/01/2005Hampstead & HighgateLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/01/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Drew13/01/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Roger Williams13/01/2005Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Sedgemore17/01/2005Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
Edward Davey17/01/2005Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell17/01/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Teather17/01/2005Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Harold Best18/01/2005Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Clare Short20/01/2005Birmingham, LadywoodLabourSigned
Michael Clapham20/01/2005Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/01/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Sue Doughty24/01/2005GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Mohammad Sarwar24/01/2005Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Keith Vaz26/01/2005Leicester EastLabourSigned
Brian White27/01/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty31/01/2005Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John Austin31/01/2005Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Patsy Calton01/02/2005CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake02/02/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway02/02/2005Glasgow, KelvinIndependentSigned
Pete Wishart21/02/2005North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Phil Sawford23/02/2005KetteringLabourSigned
Iain Coleman02/03/2005Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing06/04/2005PerthScottish National PartySigned
Parmjit Gill06/04/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.