Parliament Website

Deep Impact Spacecraft

EDM number 501 in 2004-05, proposed by Lembit Opik on 12/01/2005.

That this House welcomes the launch of the Deep Impact Spacecraft, which is scheduled to rendezvous with Comet Temple; notes that years after the Government's Near Earth Object Task Group published its report confirming the peril of a potential impact by a large comet or asteroid most of the recommended action steps have yet to be implemented; further notes that such an impact in an ocean basin could generate a tsunami 1,000 metres high, major fires and other catastrophic events; and calls on the Government to implement the 14 recommendations of the NEO Task Group report without further delay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Lembit 12/01/2005MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Syd Rapson13/01/2005Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Martin Smyth13/01/2005Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Lynne Jones13/01/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew George13/01/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden17/01/2005Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell17/01/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/01/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/01/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley17/01/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jenny Tonge17/01/2005Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams18/01/2005CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Rudi Vis18/01/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Pound18/01/2005Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones19/01/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd19/01/2005Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/01/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew19/01/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Peter Luff20/01/2005Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Tom Brake20/01/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Gill20/01/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross20/01/2005TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes24/01/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds24/01/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Crausby27/01/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey31/01/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson04/02/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.