Parliament Website

Naming Of The New Welsh Regiment

EDM number 566 in 2004-05, proposed by Roger Williams on 20/01/2005.

That this House regrets the proposed name changes to the three Welsh regiments, The Royal Welch Fusiliers, The Royal Regiment of Wales and the Royal Welsh Regiment; celebrates their distinguished military history and traditions, which has depended on the strong sense of belonging and 'hiraeth' associated with these regiments; recognises that this history and identity is a real asset to recruitment; notes that, contrary to evidence given before the Defence Select Committee, multiple representations and objections were made to the Secretary of State for Defence and the Chief of General Staff; and calls upon the Government to treat Wales as they treated Scotland by allowing the three battalions to preserve their titles as The Royal Welch Fusiliers (1st Bn The Royal Welsh), The Royal Regiment of Wales (2nd Bn The Royal Welsh) and the Royal Welsh Regiment (3rd Bn The Royal Welsh).

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Roger Williams20/01/2005Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Dai Havard20/01/2005Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/01/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Lucas20/01/2005WrexhamLabourSigned
Lembit 20/01/2005MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Wiggin20/01/2005LeominsterConservativeSigned
John Randall24/01/2005UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Bob Spink24/01/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds24/01/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell25/01/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton25/01/2005GowerLabourSigned
Denzil Davies25/01/2005LlanelliLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/01/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas25/01/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Huw Edwards26/01/2005MonmouthLabourSigned
David Trimble26/01/2005Upper BannUUPSigned
Roy Beggs26/01/2005East AntrimUUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle26/01/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones27/01/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price31/01/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Iris Robinson31/01/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Hywel Francis31/01/2005AberavonLabourSigned
Donald Anderson31/01/2005Swansea EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams31/01/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/02/2005North DownUUPSigned
Tom Brake02/02/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis02/02/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Win Griffiths03/02/2005BridgendLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell21/02/2005RomfordConservativeSigned
Hywel Williams23/02/2005CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Smith02/03/2005Vale of GlamorganLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.