Parliament Website

One Hundredth Anniversary Of The Elba Colliery Disaster

EDM number 571 in 2004-05, proposed by Martin Caton on 24/01/2005.

That this House thanks St John's Church, Gowerton, Bethal Chapel, Penclawdd, Gowerton Community Council, Gowerton Archive Group, the pupils and staff of Tregwyr Infant and Junior Schools, Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr and Gowerton Comprehensive School for their contributions to the commemoration services on 21st and 22nd January to remember the victims of the Elba Colliery explosion of 21st January 1905; applauds the children and staff of Tregwyr Junior School for their work in creating a fine memorial garden at St John's Church to honour the 11 miners killed and many others seriously injured in the 1905 disaster; further congratulates the children of this school who helped to produce the excellent animated film about the tragedy that focuses on the loss of the youngest miner to die, George Williams of penclawdd, who was just 14 years old; and recognises that it is important that new generations should learn the real histories of the communities in which they live including learning about the sacrifices that working people have made over the years.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Martin Caton24/01/2005GowerLabourProposed
Bob Spink25/01/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Betty Williams25/01/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Williams25/01/2005Swansea WestLabourSigned
Simon Thomas25/01/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Donald Anderson25/01/2005Swansea EastLabourSigned
Win Griffiths25/01/2005BridgendLabourSigned
Wayne David25/01/2005CaerphillyLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan25/01/2005Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Ian Lucas25/01/2005WrexhamLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/01/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones25/01/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Huw Irranca-Davies25/01/2005OgmoreLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/01/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/01/2005Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis26/01/2005Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Huw Edwards26/01/2005MonmouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds26/01/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ann Cryer26/01/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle26/01/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner26/01/2005BolsoverLabourSigned
John Battle27/01/2005Leeds WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes27/01/2005North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Hamilton27/01/2005MidlothianLabourSigned
John Cummings27/01/2005EasingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/01/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones27/01/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson27/01/2005Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
David Crausby27/01/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Adam Price31/01/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Iris Robinson31/01/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Dai Havard31/01/2005Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneyLabourSigned
Jon Owen Jones31/01/2005Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Martyn Jones31/01/2005Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Albert Owen31/01/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Hywel Francis31/01/2005AberavonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock31/01/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington01/02/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Roy Beggs01/02/2005East AntrimUUPSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Llew Smith01/02/2005Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
John McDonnell02/02/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake02/02/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham02/02/2005Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Diane Abbott02/02/2005Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/02/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Greg Pope03/02/2005HyndburnLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn03/02/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Eric Illsley03/02/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Tynan03/02/2005Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/02/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Syd Rapson07/02/2005Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Tony Banks07/02/2005West HamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.