Parliament Website


EDM number 729 in 2004-05, proposed by Don Foster on 21/02/2005.

That this House recognises that the UEFA European Women's Championship, taking place throughout Northwest England in June 2005, is the largest women's sporting event ever held in the UK; commends the FA for setting reasonable ticket prices for the championship, which will encourage people of all ages and backgrounds to enjoy the world-class competition; regrets the secondary nature of coverage for women's sport; notes with deep concern that girls aged 7 to 11 are less than half as likely as boys to participate in physical education and sport; acknowledges the importance of this event for raising the profile of women's football and women's sport in the United Kingdom; and wishes the FA the best of success in turning the championships into the most successful and well-attended to date.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Don Foster21/02/2005BathLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell21/02/2005ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George21/02/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Gill21/02/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale22/02/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/02/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell22/02/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeff Ennis22/02/2005Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley22/02/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John McDonnell23/02/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/02/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nigel Evans23/02/2005Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer23/02/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/02/2005GowerLabourSigned
Keith Bradley23/02/2005Manchester, WithingtonLabourSigned
Albert Owen23/02/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara23/02/2005Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rob Marris23/02/2005Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/02/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon23/02/2005North DownUUPSigned
Lynne Jones24/02/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt24/02/2005Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Paul Tyler24/02/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths24/02/2005BridgendLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds24/02/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Nick Harvey24/02/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn24/02/2005Newport WestLabourSigned
Paul Marsden25/02/2005Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Burden25/02/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Tony Banks25/02/2005West HamLabourSigned
Roger Williams25/02/2005Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams28/02/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones01/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake01/03/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes01/03/2005North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian White02/03/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Alan Williams02/03/2005Swansea WestLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/03/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Tony Clarke08/03/2005Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Andy Reed10/03/2005LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Simpson14/03/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lembit 23/03/2005MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett04/04/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.