Parliament Website

Towards A Cyprus Settlement

EDM number 910 in 2004-05, proposed by Valerie Davey on 10/03/2005.

That this House notes that after the 17th April Turkish Cypriot elections there will be an opportunity for Cypriots themselves to have an input into a settlement; urges the Government to support projects which help this process, such as the opening of Green Line crossing points near Morphou and Nicosia's Ledra Street, continued de-mining in the Buffer Zone, the conduct by the EU of a property, and by the Council of Europe of a demographic, census in all Cyprus, early activation of the 259 million euro EU aid package to Turkish Cypriots, the institution of regular contacts between civil society organisations, the completion of the work of the Missing Committee, a monument on the Green Line to all Cypriots who lost their lives, focus group and public opinion polls to understand where progress can be made, work on teaching and textbooks, as promoted by the multi-communal NGO, The Association for Historical Dialogue and Research, and the Centre for Democracy and Reconciliation in South East Europe; and hopes that both leaderships can emphasise the importance of involvement of Cypriots in these projects and seriously consider unilateral implementation of confidence building measures to prepare the ground until a mutually acceptable procedure is reached for renewed negotiations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Valerie Davey10/03/2005Bristol WestLabourProposed
Mike Hancock14/03/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Perham15/03/2005Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara15/03/2005Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/03/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton15/03/2005GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/03/2005Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Smith16/03/2005Islington South & FinsburyLabourSigned
David Lepper16/03/2005Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/03/2005Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/03/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2005HendonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley16/03/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/03/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George17/03/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew17/03/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bob Russell17/03/2005ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke18/03/2005Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Waterson21/03/2005EastbourneConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones22/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox22/03/2005TootingLabourSigned
Lynne Jones23/03/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Stephen Pound24/03/2005Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Clare Short24/03/2005Birmingham, LadywoodLabourSigned
Rob Marris04/04/2005Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes04/04/2005Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Worthington04/04/2005Clydebank & MilngavieLabourSigned
Huw Edwards06/04/2005MonmouthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis06/04/2005AberavonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.