Parliament Website

Nomination Of Mr Paul Wolfowitz As Head Of The World Bank

EDM number 950 in 2004-05, proposed by David Drew on 17/03/2005.

That this House is appalled that the US Administration has chosen to nominate Paul Wolfowitz as the next head of the World Bank; believes that, as one of the architects of the invasion of Iraq, he is uniquely unsuitable to negotiate with the world's poorest countries; notes that he has no history whatsoever of demonstrating any understanding of the needs of those countries; further believes that he is the personification of how out of touch the Bush administration remains in ignoring its global responsibilities; and calls on the Government to take what steps it can to block this nomination.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

David Drew17/03/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeProposed
Andrew George17/03/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott18/03/2005Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Harry Barnes18/03/2005North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Simon Hughes21/03/2005North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/03/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/03/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
David Taylor21/03/2005North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Simon Thomas21/03/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Robert Wareing21/03/2005Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Alex Salmond22/03/2005Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Derek Wyatt22/03/2005Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/03/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed22/03/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin McNamara22/03/2005Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
David Lepper22/03/2005Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nigel Jones22/03/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones22/03/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Llew Smith22/03/2005Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
George Galloway23/03/2005Glasgow, KelvinIndependentSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2005GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Holmes23/03/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Burden23/03/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/03/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams24/03/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Brian White24/03/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Paul Tyler24/03/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Gill24/03/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley24/03/2005RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley24/03/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Heath24/03/2005Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey24/03/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner24/03/2005BolsoverLabourSigned
Andy Reed24/03/2005LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Adam Price24/03/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Julie Morgan24/03/2005Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake04/04/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett04/04/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Harold Best04/04/2005Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/04/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andy King05/04/2005Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson06/04/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne06/04/2005AyrLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis06/04/2005Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/04/2005MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.