Parliament Website


EDM number 1395 in 2005-06, proposed by Roger Williams on 17/01/2006.

That this House condemns the planned proposals to abandon the Wilson Doctrine thereby permitting hon. Members' telephone lines to be tapped by HM security services; deplores this Government's irrational justification for spying on democratically elected representatives which, far from its stated aim of fighting terrorism, merely raises suspicions that any sensitive information gathered could be used for political gain by the Government of the day; recognises the vital importance of maintaining public confidence in this country's elected representatives as well as the political institutions they serve and that such plans damage the trust which the electorate place in politicians through the constitutional process of a general election; recognises the sanctity and supremacy of the parliamentary oath which ensures that parliamentarians operate with their constituents' best interests at heart; and reaffirms the belief that hon. Members are above all public servants and that suggesting hon. Members are potential instruments of terror is disrespectful of the public's ability to cast an informed judgement.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Roger Williams17/01/2006Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell17/01/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George17/01/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale18/01/2006MansfieldLabourSeconded
Michael Penning18/01/2006Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock18/01/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Iris Robinson18/01/2006StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Spink18/01/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Norman Baker18/01/2006LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Pritchard18/01/2006The WrekinConservativeSigned
David Heath19/01/2006Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson19/01/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/01/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh19/01/2006SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh20/01/2006Bradford WestLabourSigned
Martyn Jones20/01/2006Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/01/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Phil Willis20/01/2006Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron20/01/2006Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil23/01/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/01/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Wilshire24/01/2006SpelthorneConservativeSigned
John Hemming24/01/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams24/01/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson24/01/2006Upper BannDUPSigned
Nick Harvey25/01/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty25/01/2006Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Charles Walker26/01/2006BroxbourneConservativeSigned
John Leech26/01/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway26/01/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Anne Main30/01/2006St AlbansConservativeSigned
Dan Rogerson30/01/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley01/02/2006RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams01/02/2006Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/02/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
George Galloway13/02/2006Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Richard Younger-Ross28/02/2006TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.