Parliament Website

Fiscal Incentives For Domestic Energy Efficiency And Budget 2006

EDM number 1419 in 2005-06, proposed by Mark Lazarowicz on 18/01/2006.

That this House notes that HM Treasury has carried out three consultations in the past three years on how economic and fiscal instruments can be used to improve domestic energy efficiency; strongly agrees with the Chancellor in his Budget Reports 2002, 2003 and 2004 which described in paragraph 7.21 in 2002 and 2003 and paragraph 7.20 in 2004 energy efficiency improvements in the domestic sector as `key' to reducing fuel poverty and carbon emissions; strongly agrees also with the Budget Report 2005 that `improving energy efficiency is the most cost-effective way of reducing greenhouse gas emissions' (paragraph 7.26) and that households have `an important' role to play in achieving this; and is therefore concerned at the few fiscal incentives that have been introduced so far and that measures such as stamp duty and council tax rebates, which were very widely supported in the consultations and that have been advocated by the Energy Saving Trust, the Government's official advisers and supported by 47 out of 52 local energy efficiency advice centres which have specialist knowledge of which measures would be effective, have not yet been implemented by the Treasury; and so calls for a full package of measures to be included in Budget 2006.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Mark Lazarowicz18/01/2006Edinburgh North and LeithLabourProposed
Alan Beith18/01/2006Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nick Hurd18/01/2006Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSeconded
Joan Ruddock18/01/2006Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSeconded
Bob Spink18/01/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Joan Walley18/01/2006Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Michael Weir18/01/2006AngusScottish National PartySigned
David Chaytor18/01/2006Bury NorthLabourSigned
Colin Challen18/01/2006Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Bob Russell18/01/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lepper19/01/2006Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Peter Soulsby19/01/2006Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson19/01/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
David Taylor19/01/2006North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley19/01/2006Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Janet Anderson19/01/2006Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew19/01/2006StroudLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/01/2006Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore19/01/2006HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/01/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale19/01/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones19/01/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson19/01/2006Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
David Heath19/01/2006Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton20/01/2006GowerLabourSigned
David Hamilton20/01/2006MidlothianLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/01/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris McCafferty23/01/2006Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/01/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/01/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/01/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/01/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Hemming24/01/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Devine24/01/2006LivingstonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/01/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Michael Connarty25/01/2006Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Roger Williams26/01/2006Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech26/01/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeff Ennis26/01/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Janet Dean26/01/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar30/01/2006Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Paul Truswell30/01/2006PudseyLabourSigned
Mark Williams31/01/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis01/02/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson01/02/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/02/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley13/02/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Chris Ruane27/02/2006Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Lyn Brown27/02/2006West HamLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross28/02/2006TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.