Parliament Website

New Committee On Radiation Effects

EDM number 1464 in 2005-06, proposed by Michael Meacher on 24/01/2006.

That this House notes that the National Public Health Service Wales and the Committee on Medical Aspects of Radiation in the Environment (COMARE) have accepted a report from the Welsh Cancer Intelligence and Surveillance Unit (WCISU) denying the reality of a serious excess of childhood cancer and leukaemia around the Menai Strait in North Wales; further notes that a countervailing report has been published on the web site of the Low Level Radiation Campaign and by the journal European Biology and Bioelectromagnetics; further notes that WCISU stands accused of recklessly using false data for populations in the study area with the effect of minimising the risks apparent in the cancer cases observed despite having been warned of an exactly similar error in 2001; is concerned that COMARE's endorsement of WCISU calls its epidemiological expertise into question; and calls on the Government to replace COMARE with a Committee on the Health Effects of Ionising Radiation with a neutral chair, a full-time civil service secretariat, a budget sufficient to permit independent research, and a membership paid for their work on the Committee and which represents all shades of relevant scientific opinion.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Michael Meacher24/01/2006Oldham West and RoytonLabourProposed
Andrew George24/01/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Weir25/01/2006AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Jeremy Corbyn25/01/2006Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore25/01/2006HendonLabourSeconded
John Leech26/01/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Clapham26/01/2006Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/01/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/01/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn31/01/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
Colin Burgon31/01/2006ElmetLabourSigned
John McDonnell31/01/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd31/01/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Brian Jenkins31/01/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Paul Keetch01/02/2006HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Bill Etherington01/02/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis01/02/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson01/02/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway02/02/2006Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Hywel Williams02/02/2006CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Iris Robinson06/02/2006StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Simpson07/02/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey07/02/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming09/02/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/02/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams01/03/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Trickett08/03/2006HemsworthLabourSigned
Mark Oaten14/03/2006WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams27/03/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Marsha Singh30/03/2006Bradford WestLabourSigned
Roger Williams18/04/2006Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty19/04/2006Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Gibson20/04/2006Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Lembit 24/04/2006MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton27/04/2006GowerLabourSigned
Si02/05/2006Swansea EastLabourSigned
Vincent Cable04/05/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Browne08/05/2006TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke10/05/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martyn Jones12/05/2006Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas23/05/2006DagenhamLabourSigned
Desmond Turner23/05/2006Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Edward Davey05/06/2006Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard06/06/2006WalthamstowLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith05/07/2006Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone09/10/2006Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth09/10/2006CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake11/10/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.