Parliament Website

Transformation Fund For Childcare

EDM number 1692 in 2005-06, proposed by Phyllis Starkey on 27/02/2006.

That this House commends the Transformation Fund for childcare; notes the Fund's importance in building on the good quality services already achieved across the private, voluntary and maintained childcare sectors; supports initiatives to extend qualifications and develop skills in caring and in learning for young children whilst not adversely affecting affordability and sustainability; regrets sensational media coverage, not grounded in evidence, on the quality of childcare, which only serves to cause anxiety and confusion for parents; recognises the challenges involved in reversing the low number of child carers educated to NVQ3 and graduate level; and urges further joint programmes between the Government and public, private and voluntary sectors to address the problem.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Phyllis Starkey27/02/2006Milton Keynes South WestLabourProposed
Joan Humble27/02/2006Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSeconded
Bob Spink27/02/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Annette Brooke27/02/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore28/02/2006HendonLabourSeconded
Andrew George28/02/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Gregory Campbell28/02/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton28/02/2006GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin28/02/2006Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan28/02/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock28/02/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle01/03/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
John Leech01/03/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis01/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer01/03/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/03/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty01/03/2006Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins01/03/2006TamworthLabourSigned
David Simpson01/03/2006Upper BannDUPSigned
David Borrow02/03/2006South RibbleLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis02/03/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/03/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Vincent Cable02/03/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby02/03/2006Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Frank Field06/03/2006BirkenheadLabourSigned
Betty Williams06/03/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson06/03/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes07/03/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd07/03/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Clive Efford07/03/2006ElthamLabourSigned
Phil Willis09/03/2006Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell14/03/2006PudseyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff16/03/2006Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
John Hemming20/03/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/04/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland18/04/2006Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lyn Brown25/04/2006West HamLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne26/04/2006Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer20/06/2006Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.