Parliament Website

Commercial Minicab Signage

EDM number 1751 in 2005-06, proposed by Lee Scott on 06/03/2006.

That this House notes with concern that a large number of women are sexually assaulted every year in London by illegal minicab drivers; further notes that the Public Carriage Office is considering permitting commercial signage on the exterior of licensed minicabs; is concerned that this will lead to the public being deceived by `imitation' unlicensed minicabs using bogus signage as a badge of respectability; believes that commercial signage will increase illegal touting in London and threaten to reverse the downward trend in sexual assaults against women; acknowledges that the Metropolitan Police Cab Enforcement Unit is already overstretched; is alarmed that the Public Carriage Office consultation only proposes one option for consideration and not the status quo; and calls on the Mayor of London and Transport for London to rule out the introduction of commercial signage for minicabs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Lee Scott06/03/2006Ilford NorthConservativeProposed
Mike Hancock07/03/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Graham Stringer07/03/2006Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd07/03/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Ann Cryer07/03/2006KeighleyLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton07/03/2006CongletonConservativeSeconded
Lady Hermon08/03/2006North DownUUPSigned
Brian Jenkins08/03/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Rudi Vis08/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil09/03/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning09/03/2006Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds09/03/2006Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Derek Conway09/03/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
George Galloway13/03/2006Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Robert Wareing13/03/2006Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Betty Williams13/03/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper13/03/2006West LancashireLabourSigned
Hywel Francis14/03/2006AberavonLabourSigned
Stephen Hammond14/03/2006WimbledonConservativeSigned
James Brokenshire16/03/2006HornchurchConservativeSigned
Mark Field28/03/2006Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSigned
John Horam29/03/2006OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey30/03/2006VauxhallLabourSigned
John Austin30/03/2006Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Andrew Love20/04/2006EdmontonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.