Parliament Website

Brixton And Toxteth Riots

EDM number 1762 in 2005-06, proposed by Keith Vaz on 07/03/2006.

That this House recognises the immense progress made in inner-city areas in the 25 years since the inner-city riots of 1981; pays tribute to the efforts of community leaders and police forces in overcoming ingrained mutual distrust and achieving significantly improved relations; regrets the set-backs that have occurred to this process since 1981; notes that even in 2006 riots and violence are likeliest to occur in those communities which face poverty, social exclusion and discrimination; and hopes that in the next 25 years even greater progress will be made in establishing a just and prosperous multicultural society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Keith Vaz07/03/2006Leicester EastLabourProposed
Andrew George07/03/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore08/03/2006HendonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/03/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Holmes08/03/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton08/03/2006GowerLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones08/03/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/03/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/03/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/03/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Diane Abbott09/03/2006Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Anderson10/03/2006BlaydonLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson10/03/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
George Galloway13/03/2006Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Robert Wareing13/03/2006Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink13/03/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/03/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis14/03/2006AberavonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen15/03/2006Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins16/03/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt16/03/2006Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Si16/03/2006Swansea EastLabourSigned
Janet Dean21/03/2006BurtonLabourSigned
John Hemming22/03/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar02/05/2006Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby02/05/2006Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.