Parliament Website

Over Thirty Months Scheme

EDM number 203 in 2005-06, proposed by Roger Williams on 25/05/2005.

That this House urges the Government to end the Over Thirty Month Scheme and allow for the sale of cattle over thirty months into the human food chain as recommended by the Food Standards Agency in July 2003; welcomes the net saving of £300 million of public expenditure in abolishing the scheme; further urges the Government to ensure that the sale of British meat to EU member states is not inhibited by politically motivated restrictions; acknowledges the potential increases in returns to British farmers and the improved supply of quality British meat to consumers and food processors; recognises the marked dangers of a rapid increase in supply and the need for a measured reintroduction of over thirty month cattle into the food chain; and supports the need for continued controls on specified risk material and for rigorous safety checks in all slaughter houses to prevent cross contamination.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Roger Williams25/05/2005Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Norman Baker25/05/2005LewesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lembit 25/05/2005MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George25/05/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor26/05/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Colin Breed26/05/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Vincent Cable26/05/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley06/06/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle07/06/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen07/06/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/06/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil07/06/2005Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn08/06/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/06/2005CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Vaizey08/06/2005WantageConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/06/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson09/06/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Evan Harris09/06/2005Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce09/06/2005GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean09/06/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams09/06/2005CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Derek Wyatt13/06/2005Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross14/06/2005TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey04/07/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark19/12/2005North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.