Parliament Website

Racist Abuse At Oakington Detention Centre

EDM number 206 in 2005-06, proposed by Diane Abbott on 25/05/2005.

That this House notes the BBC documentary, Detention Undercover - The Real Story, which has exposed the racism experienced by asylum seekers at Oakington Detention Centre; deplores the appalling and degrading treatment of detainees at this centre; notes that this is the latest evidence of a catalogue of violent and racist abuse towards detainees; expresses its support for a full investigation into the claims of this documentary; applauds the decision to suspend 15 employees of Global Solutions Limited who have been implicated in these acts; and urges the Government to use detention only as a last resort and to observe international guidelines in the treatment of all detainees, with particular respect to families and children in detention.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Diane Abbott25/05/2005Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Bob Russell25/05/2005ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George25/05/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones26/05/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn26/05/2005Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson06/06/2005Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer06/06/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley06/06/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Leech06/06/2005Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon07/06/2005North DownUUPSigned
Paul Holmes07/06/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton07/06/2005GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/06/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson07/06/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis08/06/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ken Purchase08/06/2005Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/06/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh09/06/2005Bradford WestLabourSigned
Evan Harris09/06/2005Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington09/06/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Howarth09/06/2005CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen13/06/2005Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell13/06/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Helen Goodman21/06/2005Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
George Galloway23/06/2005Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Tony Lloyd27/06/2005Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar30/06/2005Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/07/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Barrett05/07/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Teather21/07/2005Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/10/2005JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.