Parliament Website

Train Services

EDM number 2382 in 2005-06, proposed by Timothy Farron on 16/06/2006.

That this House regrets that carbon emissions from transport are expected to rise by at least 10 per cent. between 2000 and 2010 undermining reductions in carbon emissions in other sectors; notes that the average person travelling by rail produces around half the carbon dioxide emissions of the average person travelling by car; notes with concern recent suggestions by the Department for Transport in their Cross Country franchise consultation that trains previously travelling directly from stations between Warrington and Glasgow to the South and South West should all terminate at Birmingham; believes that such suggestions will inconvenience passengers, leading many to drive instead of taking the train; and calls on the Department for Transport to ensure that passengers are put first in any changes to the rail network.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Tim Farron16/06/2006Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Spink19/06/2006Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton19/06/2006GowerLabourSeconded
David Taylor20/06/2006North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd20/06/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Andrew George20/06/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle20/06/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones20/06/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Drew21/06/2006StroudLabourSigned
Madeleine Moon21/06/2006BridgendLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/06/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/06/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell21/06/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Nigel Evans22/06/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis22/06/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Betty Williams22/06/2006ConwyLabourSigned
John Hemming22/06/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/06/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore26/06/2006HendonLabourSigned
Danny Alexander26/06/2006Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell26/06/2006Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins26/06/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington26/06/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson27/06/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds27/06/2006Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Richard Younger-Ross27/06/2006TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable28/06/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer28/06/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Truswell28/06/2006PudseyLabourSigned
John Pugh29/06/2006SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/06/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Rowen03/07/2006RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Browne09/10/2006TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Salter16/10/2006Reading WestLabourSigned
Alan Beith20/10/2006Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan24/10/2006HalifaxLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Horwood06/11/2006CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.