Parliament Website

Krishna Maharaj

EDM number 2754 in 2005-06, proposed by Peter Bottomley on 16/10/2006.

That this House notes the 20th anniversary of the imprisonment of Krishna Maharaj, the British national; recognises the unsatisfactory elements of his conviction for murder; welcomes the BBC Newsnight programmes examining his case; thanks the pro bono teams who have worked for justice in his cause; and anticipates fair consideration of the anticipated application for clemency now that the Supreme Court has rejected without reasons his appeal for a new trial.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Peter Bottomley16/10/2006Worthing WestConservativeProposed
Keith Vaz16/10/2006Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Alan Meale17/10/2006MansfieldLabourSeconded
Paul Keetch17/10/2006HerefordLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton17/10/2006GowerLabourSeconded
Brian Iddon17/10/2006Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable17/10/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen17/10/2006Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore17/10/2006HendonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan17/10/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Desmond Turner17/10/2006Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Richard Taylor18/10/2006Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis18/10/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis18/10/2006AberavonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/10/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Hemming19/10/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Shailesh Vara19/10/2006North West CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/10/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer20/10/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/10/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/10/2006Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/10/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Austin25/10/2006Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt26/10/2006CrawleyLabourSigned
Martin Horwood06/11/2006CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.