Parliament Website

English Music Festival

EDM number 2815 in 2005-06, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 19/10/2006.

That this House congratulates the organisers of the English Music Festival which is to be held in Dorchester on Thames starting this weekend; recognises that the festival is an exciting new project that will celebrate England's rich musical heritage by showcasing the brilliance, innovation and beauty of English music; welcomes the festival's devotion to keeping important works by major British composers in the repertoire, as well as resurrecting the many forgotten gems by a host of lesser-known composers, whose exquisitely crafted works never fail to surprise and enchant, ranging from the timeless delights of Tallis and Byrd to the power and drama of Howells and Britten; and hopes this Festival will become an annual celebration of English music and Englishness itself.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell19/10/2006RomfordConservativeProposed
Boris Johnson19/10/2006HenleyConservativeSeconded
Henry Bellingham19/10/2006North West NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Peter Luff19/10/2006Mid WorcestershireConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell19/10/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Philip Davies20/10/2006ShipleyConservativeSeconded
Nigel Evans20/10/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Bob Spink23/10/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/10/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
James Gray23/10/2006North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock23/10/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil23/10/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/10/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Edward Vaizey24/10/2006WantageConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton24/10/2006CongletonConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley24/10/2006Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gordon Marsden24/10/2006Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones24/10/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes25/10/2006ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss25/10/2006North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Derek Conway25/10/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Ben Wallace30/10/2006Lancaster and WyreConservativeSigned
Mark Fisher01/11/2006Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell02/11/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Brian Jenkins06/11/2006TamworthLabourSigned
John Hemming06/11/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis07/11/2006Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.