Parliament Website

Sites Of Scheduled Ancient Monuments

EDM number 340 in 2005-06, proposed by Bob Russell on 15/06/2005.

That this House places great importance on the protection of Sites of Scheduled Ancient Monuments; believes that sites so designated should not be built on; is alarmed that some developers and public bodies seek to circumvent the scheduling, including pressurising English Heritage to grant consents to enable developments to take place; calls on English Heritage to resist and to publicise every occasion when such pressure is attempted; urges the Government to publish an annual register giving details of every application made for consents to develop Sites of Scheduled Ancient Monuments, and the decision made in each case; and further urges the Government to introduce legislation so that in cases where there is objection to proposed development of a Site of Scheduled Ancient Monument there is a public inquiry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Bob Russell15/06/2005ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Iris Robinson16/06/2005StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/06/2005Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Greg Pope16/06/2005HyndburnLabourSeconded
David Taylor16/06/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/06/2005Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Keetch16/06/2005HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer16/06/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Desmond Turner16/06/2005Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/06/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle20/06/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/06/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink21/06/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
David Drew21/06/2005StroudLabourSigned
Frank Cook21/06/2005Stockton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson21/06/2005Upper BannDUPSigned
Lady Hermon22/06/2005North DownUUPSigned
Paul Holmes22/06/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore22/06/2005HendonLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/06/2005Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Andrew George22/06/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock22/06/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean28/06/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson30/06/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/07/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington14/07/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell19/07/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.