Parliament Website

Network Rail

EDM number 352 in 2005-06, proposed by Robert N Wareing on 16/06/2005.

That this House welcomes the significant reductions in delays attributable to infrastructure failure and improved efficiency since Network Rail brought maintenance back in-house on a not-for-dividend basis; is concerned that this progress will be undermined by proposals to break up Network Rail by transferring sections of its infrastructure and operations to Merseyrail and that these assets will then be sub-let to the private sector; is further concerned that this proposal could be a prelude to transferring all signalling operations and maintenance work back to the private sector; and therefore urges the Government to retain Network Rail as a unified and not-for-dividend organisation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Robert Wareing16/06/2005Liverpool, West DerbyLabourProposed
John McDonnell16/06/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Michael Clapham16/06/2005Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd16/06/2005Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Gavin Strang16/06/2005Edinburgh EastLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle20/06/2005ChorleyLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd20/06/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/06/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/06/2005Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/06/2005ElthamLabourSigned
David Taylor20/06/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/06/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/06/2005GowerLabourSigned
Frank Cook21/06/2005Stockton NorthLabourSigned
David Drew21/06/2005StroudLabourSigned
George Galloway21/06/2005Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Mike Hancock22/06/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price22/06/2005Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen22/06/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner23/06/2005BolsoverLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins28/06/2005TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/06/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis29/06/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson30/06/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Michael Meacher30/06/2005Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
John Hemming30/06/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer04/07/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn05/07/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Bill Etherington14/07/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark20/07/2005North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern20/07/2005Dundee WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan20/07/2005HalifaxLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell19/10/2005Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Ian Gibson19/10/2005Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/10/2005Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.