Parliament Website

UK Presidency Of The G8 And Climate Change, Poverty Reduction And Nuclear Weapons

EDM number 455 in 2005-06, proposed by David Chaytor on 29/06/2005.

That this House congratulates the Prime Minister on prioritising climate change, poverty reduction and the plight of Africa as major themes of the UK G8 presidency; notes that four of the G8 states are also nulcear powers; regrets the lack of agreement at the 2005 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) Review Conference to build on the commitments given at the 2000 NPT Conference to work towards the total elimination of nuclear weapons; recognises the waste of scarce public resources in the budgets allocated by the world's nuclear states to the research, development, maintenance and deployment of nuclear weapons; agrees with the Prime Minister that poverty and climate change represent the most serious threats to global security; and therefore calls on the G8 leaders during the UK presidency to commit to a major transfer of resources from nuclear weapons development to investment in renewable energy technologies and economic and social development in Africa.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

David Chaytor29/06/2005Bury NorthLabourProposed
Alan Meale29/06/2005MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis29/06/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Janet Dean29/06/2005BurtonLabourSeconded
Alan Whitehead29/06/2005Southampton, TestLabourSeconded
David Taylor30/06/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Brian Jenkins30/06/2005TamworthLabourSigned
David Drew30/06/2005StroudLabourSigned
Lynne Jones30/06/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Simpson30/06/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice30/06/2005PendleLabourSigned
David Lepper04/07/2005Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt04/07/2005Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Betty Williams04/07/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock04/07/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn04/07/2005Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin04/07/2005Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/07/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/07/2005GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/07/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden04/07/2005Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz04/07/2005Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson04/07/2005Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Ken Purchase05/07/2005Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard05/07/2005WalthamstowLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/07/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann McKechin05/07/2005Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood05/07/2005Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Harry Cohen05/07/2005Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn06/07/2005JarrowLabourSigned
David Borrow06/07/2005South RibbleLabourSigned
Joan Walley06/07/2005Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd07/07/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
David Hamilton07/07/2005MidlothianLabourSigned
Desmond Turner11/07/2005Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis12/07/2005Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Paul Truswell12/07/2005PudseyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley12/07/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Richard Burden13/07/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan18/07/2005FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris McCafferty20/07/2005Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock21/07/2005Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/07/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis15/11/2005AberavonLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton15/11/2005Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Frank Field08/12/2005BirkenheadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.