Parliament Website

British Medical Association Vote On Euthanasia

EDM number 552 in 2005-06, proposed by Brian Iddon on 11/07/2005.

That this House welcomes the decision of the Royal College of General Practitioners and Physicians to reject the neutral stand on physician-assisted dying taken by the College when it gave evidence to the House of Lords Select Committee on the Assisted Dying for the Terminally Ill Bill; notes this resulted from demands by grass roots members who oppose euthanasia; regrets, however, that this was followed by the British Medical Association's (BMA) annual conference passing a motion withdrawing opposition to physician-assisted suicide and adopting a neutral stand; further notes that three motions were presented to the conference opposing euthanasia, supporting a neutral stand on assisted suicide and supporting euthanasia; deplores that these in their final form were presented on the day of the vote when of 304 voting delegates only 175 remained; further notes that none of the BMA divisions throughout the country saw the motions and that of the Association's 11 branches of practice, only one, the Medical Students, had debated the subject; notes that their motion for the annual conference rejected euthanasia and physician-assisted suicide; further notes that the three motions were presented in reverse order allowing votes only on supporting euthanasia (72 votes for and 101 against) and for the Association taking a neutral stand (93 for and 82 against); regrets that no vote was taken on the motion opposing euthanasia; and calls on the Government to reiterate its opposition to assisted suicide and euthanasia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs.

Brian Iddon11/07/2005Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Paul Rowen11/07/2005RochdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Helen Jones11/07/2005Warrington NorthLabourSeconded
Angela Watkinson11/07/2005UpminsterConservativeSeconded
Claire Curtis-Thomas11/07/2005CrosbyLabourSeconded
Andrew Rosindell11/07/2005RomfordConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle11/07/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay11/07/2005ThurrockLabourSigned
David Crausby11/07/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin11/07/2005Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Keetch12/07/2005HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Brazier12/07/2005CanterburyConservativeSigned
Vincent Cable12/07/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew12/07/2005StroudLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/07/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Taylor12/07/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Paul Goodman13/07/2005WycombeConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton13/07/2005CongletonConservativeSigned
Gordon Marsden13/07/2005Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz13/07/2005Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Alistair Burt13/07/2005North East BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Edward Leigh14/07/2005GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Colin Breed14/07/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton14/07/2005MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
James Gray18/07/2005North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Philip Davies18/07/2005ShipleyConservativeSigned
Betty Williams18/07/2005ConwyLabourSigned
George Galloway18/07/2005Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Andrew Dismore18/07/2005HendonLabourSigned
Stephen Crabb19/07/2005Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSigned
Desmond Swayne19/07/2005New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell19/07/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Joe Benton19/07/2005BootleLabourSigned
Janet Anderson19/07/2005Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds19/07/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell19/07/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Peter Luff19/07/2005Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Bob Spink19/07/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
John Pugh19/07/2005SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Clarke19/07/2005Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Robert Walter20/07/2005North DorsetConservativeSigned
David Amess20/07/2005Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson20/07/2005Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Michael Clapham20/07/2005Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Marshall20/07/2005Glasgow EastLabourSigned
Laurence Robertson21/07/2005TewkesburyConservativeSigned
John Smith21/07/2005Vale of GlamorganLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/07/2005FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Phil Willis21/07/2005Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady10/10/2005South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Edward Vaizey10/10/2005WantageConservativeSigned
Philip Dunne10/10/2005LudlowConservativeSigned
Mary Creagh10/10/2005WakefieldLabourSigned
Ann Widdecombe10/10/2005Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSigned
Michael Jabez Foster10/10/2005Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Simon Burns10/10/2005West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
William McCrea10/10/2005South AntrimDUPSigned
Marsha Singh10/10/2005Bradford WestLabourSigned
David Mundell13/10/2005Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSigned
Richard Bacon13/10/2005South NorfolkConservativeSigned
Anne Milton13/10/2005GuildfordConservativeSigned
Derek Conway20/10/2005Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Tim Farron25/10/2005Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster27/10/2005BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb03/11/2005North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams07/11/2005Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Henry Bellingham08/11/2005North West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Peter Bone14/11/2005WellingboroughConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.