Parliament Website

Future Use Of Eurostar Platforms At Waterloo

EDM number 610 in 2005-06, proposed by Tom Brake on 19/07/2005.

That this House recognises that more than 250,000 people a day use Waterloo station and that the commuter services are among the most overcrowded in the country; notes the decision by Eurostar to transfer its international train services from Waterloo International to St Pancras when the Channel Tunnel Rail Link is completed in 2007; further notes that the Strategic Rail Authority, on behalf of the Department for Transport, have commissioned Arup to conduct a study on possible future uses for Waterloo International station and the Eurostar train servicing depot at North Pole, West London; believes that when Eurostar vacates Waterloo in 2007, the spare capacity should be geared towards alleviating overcrowding and reducing delays on domestic routes; further believes that the platforms and space made available should be incorporated into any wider schemes to improve the whole of Waterloo station's facilities; welcomes the expressions of support from South West Trains, Transport for London and the London Transport Users' Committee for such a proposal; and calls on the Government to publish Arup's study as soon as it is completed and to undertake the necessary engineering work to enable domestic rail operators to use the five quarter-mile long Eurostar platforms at Waterloo.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Tom Brake19/07/2005Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Edward Davey19/07/2005Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Vincent Cable19/07/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Susan Kramer19/07/2005Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Rudi Vis20/07/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Bob Spink20/07/2005Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Robert Key20/07/2005SalisburyConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke20/07/2005Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell20/07/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer20/07/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew George20/07/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley21/07/2005RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling21/07/2005Croydon CentralConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley21/07/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Drew21/07/2005StroudLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/07/2005TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson21/07/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/10/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams10/10/2005ConwyLabourSigned
David Wilshire10/10/2005SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson11/10/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle11/10/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/10/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming11/10/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson11/10/2005BlaydonLabourSigned
Roger Williams14/10/2005Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2005North DownUUPSigned
Derek Conway20/10/2005Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
John Barrett24/10/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.