Parliament Website

Patient And Public Involvement Forums

EDM number 637 in 2005-06, proposed by Ian Gibson on 20/07/2005.

That this House welcomes the Government's continued commitment to a patient-centred NHS and to effective patient and public engagement in decision-making; notes with concern that patient and public involvement (PPI) forums, which have only existed since December 2003, are to undergo a further reorganisation in the coming year leading to a reduction in forum numbers and a loss of focus on ambulance, mental health and acute trusts; further notes with concern that reorganisation so early in the life of PPI forums could destabilise the system before it has the opportunity to develop properly and show its full benefits, leading to a loss of confidence amongst forum members; and further notes with concern that the abolition of the Commission for Patient and Public Involvement in Health, without any single national body to replace it, may impede the ability of patients and the public to influence decision-making on health services at a national level.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Ian Gibson20/07/2005Norwich NorthLabourProposed
Rudi Vis20/07/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2005Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale20/07/2005MansfieldLabourSeconded
David Drew21/07/2005StroudLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson21/07/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice21/07/2005PendleLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/07/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley21/07/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/07/2005TamworthLabourSigned
David Clelland21/07/2005Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Janet Dean21/07/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/07/2005WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Taylor21/07/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt21/07/2005Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
John Leech10/10/2005Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer10/10/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington10/10/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/10/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle11/10/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis11/10/2005Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/10/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan11/10/2005HalifaxLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2005GowerLabourSigned
Janet Anderson12/10/2005Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Nick Harvey18/10/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2005North DownUUPSigned
Derek Conway21/10/2005Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Albert Owen25/10/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Jon Trickett26/10/2005HemsworthLabourSigned
Jim Cousins23/11/2005Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.