Parliament Website

Meetings Of The European Union Council Of Ministers

EDM number 760 in 2005-06, proposed by Nick Clegg on 12/10/2005.

That this House condemns the practice of the Council of Ministers, the most senior law-making body of the European Union, of meeting in secret to debate new legislation despite the acceptance of every EU head of Government that it should deliberate in public when considering legislative acts; notes that a cross party consensus of the five UK national delegations in the European Parliament have tabled a Written Declaration on Ending Council Secrecy and in support of this calls on the 25 member states of the General Affairs Council to force the Council of Ministers to meet in public via a change in the Council's rules of procedure; calls on the Government to use its current presidency of the EU to make this change; and believes that in doing so national parliaments will be better able to hold Ministers to account for their actions, openness and transparency will be promoted and the legitimacy and efficacy of the European Union will be strengthened.

This motion has been signed by a total of 62 MPs.

Nicholas Clegg12/10/2005Sheffield, HallamLiberal DemocratProposed
Graham Allen12/10/2005Nottingham NorthLabourSeconded
David Curry12/10/2005Skipton and RiponConservativeSeconded
Michael Penning13/10/2005Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
John Pugh13/10/2005SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George13/10/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Heath13/10/2005Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Moore13/10/2005Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen14/10/2005RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams14/10/2005Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson14/10/2005East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell14/10/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce14/10/2005GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris14/10/2005Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes14/10/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock14/10/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley17/10/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Howarth17/10/2005CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams17/10/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer17/10/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Chris Bryant17/10/2005RhonddaLabourSigned
David Laws17/10/2005YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price17/10/2005Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Williams18/10/2005CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling18/10/2005Croydon CentralConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland18/10/2005Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Browne18/10/2005TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wilshire18/10/2005SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Graham Stringer18/10/2005Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Don Foster18/10/2005BathLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew18/10/2005StroudLabourSigned
John Cummings18/10/2005EasingtonLabourSigned
Colin Breed18/10/2005South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb18/10/2005North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker18/10/2005LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes19/10/2005North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Christopher Huhne19/10/2005EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch19/10/2005HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton19/10/2005GowerLabourSigned
Rudi Vis19/10/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lynne Jones20/10/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Annette Brooke20/10/2005Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso20/10/2005Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz20/10/2005Leicester EastLabourSigned
Martin Horwood21/10/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming21/10/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett24/10/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Danny Alexander24/10/2005Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott24/10/2005Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron25/10/2005Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow26/10/2005Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey26/10/2005Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis27/10/2005Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable27/10/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey28/10/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington28/10/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan Beith31/10/2005Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bob Spink07/11/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Alan Reid08/11/2005Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/11/2005Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer11/11/2005Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.