Parliament Website

HIV And Perceived Or Associative Disability Discrimination

EDM number 1053 in 2006-07, proposed by Laura Moffatt on 06/03/2007.

That this House notes that legal protection for people living with HIV from the effects of HIV prejudice and discrimination has been greatly improved by the extension of the Disability Discrimination Act to cover conditions such as HIV effectively from the point of diagnosis; notes that people who are not themselves HIV positive can face discrimination because of an association with someone who is HIV positive or because they are perceived to be HIV positive; further notes that this could include partners of people with HIV, family members and carers, or just people who belong to groups amongst whom HIV is of higher prevalence, such as gay men and recent African migrants; further notes that the European Court of Justice has been asked to determine whether the European Framework Directive on Equal Treatment in Employment prohibits discrimination on grounds of association with a disabled person following a reference from the Employment Tribunal and the appeal decision of the EAT in the case of Attridge Law and S Law v. Coleman (UKEAT/0417/06/DM); congratulates Ireland, Sweden, the Netherlands, Germany, Malta, Denmark, Portugal and Spain for introducing legislation to protect people who experience discrimination on the basis of association or perception of disability; and calls on the Government to follow suit and make explicit provisions prohibiting discrimination on the basis of association or perception of disability in future legislation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 76 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Laura Moffatt06/03/2007CrawleyLabourProposed
Neil Gerrard06/03/2007WalthamstowLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley06/03/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen Williams06/03/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale07/03/2007MansfieldLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore07/03/2007HendonLabourSeconded
Michael Penning07/03/2007Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
John Leech07/03/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis07/03/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner07/03/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/03/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson07/03/2007Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George07/03/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/03/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/03/2007GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/03/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Lepper07/03/2007Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson07/03/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Chris Ruane07/03/2007Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Greg Pope07/03/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
David Drew07/03/2007StroudLabourSigned
Brian Iddon08/03/2007Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/03/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Harry Cohen08/03/2007Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean08/03/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis08/03/2007AberavonLabourSigned
David Borrow08/03/2007South RibbleLabourSigned
Evan Harris09/03/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt09/03/2007SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson09/03/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
Paul Holmes12/03/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer12/03/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams12/03/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Dai Havard13/03/2007Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/03/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/03/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Si13/03/2007Swansea EastLabourSigned
Madeleine Moon13/03/2007BridgendLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty14/03/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Willie Rennie14/03/2007Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Todd14/03/2007South DerbyshireLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/03/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Anderson14/03/2007Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/03/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins15/03/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd15/03/2007Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Love15/03/2007EdmontonLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone15/03/2007Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Cook19/03/2007Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/03/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey20/03/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith20/03/2007Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Vincent Cable20/03/2007TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wright20/03/2007TelfordLabourSigned
Jo Swinson22/03/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley23/03/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley23/03/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Sheridan27/03/2007Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Howarth28/03/2007CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Gavin Strang29/03/2007Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Frank Doran29/03/2007Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn16/04/2007JarrowLabourSigned
Ann McKechin16/04/2007Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton16/04/2007MidlothianLabourSigned
Lyn Brown16/04/2007West HamLabourSigned
Jim Cousins27/04/2007Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Diane Abbott30/04/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Tom Clarke02/05/2007Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Sarah Teather02/05/2007Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/05/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Julie Morgan10/05/2007Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen17/05/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
John Greenway12/07/2007RyedaleConservativeSigned
John Austin08/10/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Joan RuddockUnknownWithdrawn
Wayne DavidUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.