Parliament Website

Bicentenary Of The Abolition Of The Slave Trade Act 1807 (No. 2)

EDM number 1221 in 2006-07, proposed by Keith Vaz on 27/03/2007.

That this House notes with regret that many thousands of Africans suffered horrific, degrading and immoral treatment as a result of the slave trade; commemorates the dignified and brave manner in which enslaved Africans rose up against their oppressors; further commemorates 25th March as the bicentenary of the passing of the Abolition of the Slave Trade Act 1807 by Parliament; notes that the barbaric slave trade saw millions of enslaved persons transported through British ports; acknowledges that many of its past victims are the ancestors of present-day British citizens; recognises that the UK's economy directly benefited from the trade; calls on the Government to establish an annual National Slavery Memorial Day on 23rd August to memoralise both the outlawing of the slave trade and the resistance to it by enslaved people; further cautions that in 2007 hundreds of thousands of adults and children are still being trafficked and sold into forms of slavery such as forced labour and prostitution in a global criminal trade, causing devastating human suffering both abroad and in the UK; congratulates the Government for signing the Council of Europe Convention on Action Against Trafficking in Human Beings on Friday 23rd March 2007; and further urges the Government to take any other steps that may be necessary both to combat modern day slavery and to raise awareness about modern and past slavery, in co-operation with partners in the UK and abroad.

This motion has been signed by a total of 91 MPs, 3 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Keith Vaz27/03/2007Leicester EastLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley27/03/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George27/03/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Spink27/03/2007Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle27/03/2007ChorleyLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan27/03/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Elfyn Llwyd28/03/2007Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Angus MacNeil28/03/2007Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis28/03/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner28/03/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/03/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn28/03/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew28/03/2007StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore28/03/2007HendonLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/03/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham28/03/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Martin Caton28/03/2007GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed28/03/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rob Marris28/03/2007Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Lynne Jones28/03/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Stephen Williams29/03/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson29/03/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
Betty Williams29/03/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable29/03/2007TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Laura Moffatt29/03/2007CrawleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale29/03/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty29/03/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber29/03/2007Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/03/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Heath29/03/2007Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell29/03/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis16/04/2007AberavonLabourSigned
John Leech16/04/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lyn Brown16/04/2007West HamLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson16/04/2007Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Mike Wood16/04/2007Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell16/04/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington16/04/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/04/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Colin Burgon16/04/2007ElmetLabourSigned
Kate Hoey16/04/2007VauxhallLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn16/04/2007JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Hunter17/04/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern17/04/2007Dundee WestLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley17/04/2007City of YorkLabourSigned
Harry Cohen17/04/2007Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden17/04/2007Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/04/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan17/04/2007Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh17/04/2007Bradford WestLabourSigned
David Simpson18/04/2007Upper BannDUPSigned
Michael Meacher18/04/2007Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/04/2007Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Edward Davey18/04/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams18/04/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Gilroy19/04/2007Plymouth, SuttonLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/04/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming19/04/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis20/04/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins23/04/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton23/04/2007Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/04/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eddie McGrady26/04/2007South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Berry26/04/2007KingswoodLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy27/04/2007Bristol EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes30/04/2007Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson01/05/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson01/05/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds02/05/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Frank Doran10/05/2007Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey15/05/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen17/05/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Louise Ellman17/05/2007Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Willie Rennie23/05/2007Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Devine24/05/2007LivingstonLabourSigned
Alex Salmond04/06/2007Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Tony Lloyd04/06/2007Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Frank Cook04/06/2007Stockton NorthLabourSigned
John Austin04/06/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Ian Stewart04/06/2007EcclesLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/06/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp06/06/2007Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Evan Harris14/06/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Teather18/06/2007Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams26/06/2007CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Truswell03/07/2007PudseyLabourSigned
Russell Brown11/07/2007Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
George Mudie25/07/2007Leeds EastLabourSigned
Angela EagleUnknownWithdrawn
Sadiq KhanUnknownWithdrawn
Diana R JohnsonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.