Parliament Website

Execution Of Ahwazi Arabs

EDM number 128 in 2006-07, proposed by Chris Bryant on 16/11/2006.

That this House notes the long-running persecution of the Ahwazi Arabs in the south west Khuzestan region of Iran by the authorities in Tehran; further notes that 10 Ahwazi Arabs named Ali Motairi, Abdullah Solaimani, Abdulreza Sanawati (Zergani), Ghasem Salamat, Mohamad Chaab Pour, Abdulamir Farajullah Chaab, Alireza Asakreh, Majed Alboghubaish, Khalaf Khaziri and Malek Banitamim have been sentenced to death; supports Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch in their complaints that Iranian justice has meant that many Ahwazi Arab defendants have had no opportunity to meet their lawyers before their case has begun, have had one-day trials in secret with no witnesses and have had false confessions extracted through torture; and calls on the Iranian Government to respect the human rights of all its peoples and to commute the death penalty in these cases.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Chris Bryant16/11/2006RhonddaLabourProposed
Michael Gove16/11/2006Surrey HeathConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell16/11/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/11/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George20/11/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew20/11/2006StroudLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan20/11/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Robert Wareing20/11/2006Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Stephen Williams20/11/2006Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/11/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Williams21/11/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/11/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Derek Conway21/11/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Albert Owen21/11/2006Ynys MLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/11/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones21/11/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Greg Pope21/11/2006HyndburnLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt22/11/2006Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Edward Vaizey22/11/2006WantageConservativeSigned
Martin Caton22/11/2006GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed22/11/2006South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/11/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Lazarowicz22/11/2006Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Nick Harvey22/11/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink22/11/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Tom Brake22/11/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan23/11/2006Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Evan Harris23/11/2006Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins23/11/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer23/11/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean23/11/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard23/11/2006WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Hemming23/11/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson27/11/2006North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans27/11/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
John McDonnell27/11/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Karen Buck28/11/2006Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dowd29/11/2006Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis29/11/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jo Swinson29/11/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson30/11/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Binley30/11/2006Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Rob Marris04/12/2006Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington04/12/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ian Austin04/12/2006Dudley NorthLabourSigned
Paul Murphy05/12/2006TorfaenLabourSigned
Graham Stuart06/12/2006Beverley and HoldernessConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon11/12/2006Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling08/02/2007Croydon CentralConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.