Parliament Website

National Museum Of Science And Industry

EDM number 1005 in 2007-08, proposed by John McDonnell on 21/02/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Employment, Pay, Pensions and Science.

That this House is shocked by recent announcements from the management of the National Museum of Science and Industry that it intends to close the pension scheme to all new staff from 1st April 2008 and that all new staff will also be employed by the museum's trading company and will be subject to worse terms and conditions, including less annual leave than staff on standard museum contracts and future pay awards linked to profits; is concerned that a new grading structure which links pay to market rates in retail outlets like Tesco and Disneyland, rather than the culture sector, has not been properly researched; is further concerned that the Director of the Museum has not ruled out charging visitors admission fees in the future and wants the national museum to move away from its status as a non-departmental public body (NDPB) to that of charitable company limited by guarantee; urgently calls for the Secretary of State to convene a meeting with the museum director, recognised trades unions and the permanent secretary to resolve these issues; and further calls on the Government to reaffirm its commitment to the arts and heritage sector by ensuring that grant-in-aid and NDPB status are retained for all such organisations and that a uniform approach is adopted in protecting the terms and conditions of both new and existing employees within the museum sector, including pay and pension scheme arrangements.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

John McDonnell21/02/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Michael Connarty21/02/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Ian Gibson21/02/2008Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones21/02/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/02/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer21/02/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins22/02/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon22/02/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore22/02/2008HendonLabourSigned
David Drew22/02/2008StroudLabourSigned
David Taylor22/02/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/02/2008GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean26/02/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Desmond Turner26/02/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/02/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell26/02/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Burgon26/02/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Meale26/02/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Clapham26/02/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Leech27/02/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan27/02/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Robert Wareing27/02/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis27/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/02/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea27/02/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Bob Spink27/02/2008Castle PointConservativeSigned
Betty Williams03/03/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd04/03/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington11/03/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
Sammy Wilson02/06/2008East AntrimDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.