Parliament Website

Rural Poverty (No. 2)

EDM number 1111 in 2007-08, proposed by Nick Harvey on 04/03/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Countryside and Incomes and poverty.

That this House welcomes the Report of the Rural Advocate 2007; is concerned that there are over 928,000 rural households living below the Government's official poverty threshold; believes that more needs to be done to support people living in rural areas and listen to their views; urges the Government to do more to help protect the most vulnerable people in rural areas; and calls on the Government to end the closures of post offices which are so vital to people in rural and low-income areas.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Nick Harvey04/03/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratProposed
Richard Younger-Ross04/03/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/03/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Heath04/03/2008Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Browne04/03/2008TauntonLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Laws04/03/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Simpson05/03/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle05/03/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell05/03/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn05/03/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans05/03/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock05/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams05/03/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter05/03/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson06/03/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil06/03/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Andrew George06/03/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean06/03/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke06/03/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed06/03/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew06/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer10/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Willie Rennie10/03/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley11/03/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams11/03/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea12/03/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson12/03/2008Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dan Rogerson13/03/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael14/03/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell17/03/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming20/03/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Adam Price02/04/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Malcolm Bruce30/04/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.