Parliament Website

Nuclear Warhead Construction At The Atomic Weapons Establishment

EDM number 1165 in 2007-08, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 11/03/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Arms control.

That this House notes that the Atomic Weapons Establishment (AWE) at Berkshire has been building nuclear warheads for more than 50 years; also notes that on 24th March 2008 the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (CND) will hold a peaceful demonstration at Aldermaston, not only to protest about its manufacture of nuclear bombs, but also to celebrate 50 years of anti-nuclear protest in the UK; congratulates Aldermaston Women's Peace Camps, established in 1985, for their steadfast on-site resistance to the role of AWE in developing nuclear warheads; recalls that in 2002, AWE Management Ltd published a plan to develop new facilities worth £5 billion, including state-of-the-art computers, which could support the development of new nuclear weapons without the need for a nuclear weapon test explosion, banned under the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty; and expresses support for CND's protest at AWE on 24th March 2008.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jeremy Corbyn11/03/2008Islington NorthLabourProposed
Ann Cryer11/03/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan11/03/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell12/03/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis12/03/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
David Lepper12/03/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice12/03/2008PendleLabourSigned
Adam Price12/03/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Lynne Jones12/03/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/03/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton12/03/2008GowerLabourSigned
Hywel Williams12/03/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Walley13/03/2008Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Dai Davies13/03/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Gavin Strang13/03/2008Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Ian Gibson13/03/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen13/03/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/03/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Clare Short17/03/2008Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
John Leech17/03/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham18/03/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Paul Flynn18/03/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil18/03/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Colin Challen19/03/2008Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Robert Wareing19/03/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Desmond Turner19/03/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Drew19/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
David Chaytor19/03/2008Bury NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh19/03/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith20/03/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle25/03/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/04/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jon TrickettUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.