Parliament Website

250th Anniversary Of Middleton Railway

EDM number 1315 in 2007-08, proposed by John Battle on 02/04/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House congratulates Middleton Railway on the 250th anniversary of its foundation in 2008; notes that the Railway was the first to be constructed under powers from an Act of Parliament in 1758 and has remained in continuous use over at least part of the network ever since, and thus has a claim to be the world's oldest working railway; commends the volunteers who devote significant time and energy to keeping it operating; and wishes them success in the anniversary celebrations planned for 2008.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

John Battle02/04/2008Leeds WestLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley02/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Betty Williams03/04/2008ConwyLabourSeconded
Martin Caton03/04/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones03/04/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis21/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins21/04/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/04/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley22/04/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Colin Burgon23/04/2008ElmetLabourSigned
John Leech23/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis23/04/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea23/04/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Iris Robinson23/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Janet Dean24/04/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/04/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Joan Walley25/04/2008Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland25/04/2008Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark28/04/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John McDonnell29/04/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.