Parliament Website

Second Home Ownership

EDM number 147 in 2007-08, proposed by Timothy Farron on 07/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Countryside, Housing and Planning.

That this House notes the distortions caused to rural housing markets by high levels of second home ownership, which can exclude local people from buying a home in their own community; further notes that disproportionate second home ownership can lead to critical reductions in demand for local services such as schools, post offices and public transport; and calls for local communities to be given powers to set the right balance for them between affordable and second homes, including amending planning law to make transferring the use of a property from a main home to a second home a formal change of use and to allow local authorities to levy business rates on second homes in their areas.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Tim Farron07/11/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
David Drew08/11/2007StroudLabourSeconded
Colin Breed08/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones12/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Michael Jabez Foster13/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Heath13/11/2007Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes13/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George13/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy15/11/2007Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson22/11/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/12/2007Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds16/01/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Charlotte Atkins05/03/2008Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.