Parliament Website

Eu 20 Per Cent. Renewables Target By 2020

EDM number 157 in 2007-08, proposed by Colin Challen on 08/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Energy and Renewable energy.

That this House welcomes the new EU target of 20 per cent. renewables as a proportion of total energy by 2020; notes that the United Kingdom currently delivers 1.75 per cent. total energy from renewables, the lowest percentage in Europe apart from Luxembourg and Malta; further notes that the EU average is 7 per cent., with countries like Denmark on 16.21 per cent. demonstrating that renewables output can be doubled in a single decade; urges the Government to adopt a more ambitious approach to the United Kingdom's exceptional renewable resources, making use of the United Kingdom's considerable engineering and academic expertise; further recognises that the United Kingdom is the second largest economy in Europe, and the world's fifth biggest economy and sixth biggest manufacturing economy, and therefore has the knowledge and resources to deliver a step change in the delivery of renewable energy, creating significant employment and export opportunities; further urges the Government to offer strong leadership on United Kingdom renewables and to adopt a positive approach to EU negotiations on the EU target to achieve an outcome which supports the rapid expansion of renewable energy in the United Kingdom; and urges the Government to adopt the Renewable Energy Association and British Wind Energy Association's call for a 2020 Renewable Taskforce to ensure that Government works in partnership with key industries and the energy regulator to deliver as close to 20 per cent. renewables by 2020 as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Colin Challen08/11/2007Morley and RothwellLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley08/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris McCafferty12/11/2007Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSeconded
David Taylor12/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis12/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones12/11/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Edward Davey13/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell13/11/2007PudseyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew13/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Albert Owen13/11/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith13/11/2007Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale13/11/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson13/11/2007Upper BannDUPSigned
Greg Pope13/11/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson14/11/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
William McCrea14/11/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Cousins19/11/2007Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell19/11/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam20/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Betty Williams20/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/11/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed22/11/2007LoughboroughLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle22/11/2007Leeds WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Roger Berry10/12/2007KingswoodLabourSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Laws26/02/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Fabian Hamilton10/03/2008Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Mark Hunter14/07/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.