Parliament Website

Dore Promotion

EDM number 1770 in 2007-08, proposed by Paul Flynn on 11/06/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Special educational needs.

That this House is appalled at the gullible uncritical promotion by the media of Dore, a claimed miracle cure for dyslexia, in the absence of scientific proof of its value; notes that there were five resignations from the editorial board of the journal Dyslexia in protest at false claims published in that journal on the efficacy of Dore; welcomes Ofcom's finding that Dore's television advertisement was in breach of its rules on evidence; calls on the Jeremy Vine Show, Channel Five News, Radio Five Live, BBC London, ITV Central, ITV Yorkshire, the Daily Mail, the Daily Record, Scotland on Sunday, Tonight with Trevor McDonald and You and Yours to correct the false impressions they broadcast on an unproven treatment; and congratulates the bloggers and journalist Ben Goldacre for exposing this bad science and other exploitative snake oil salespeople.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Paul Flynn11/06/2008Newport WestLabourProposed
Andrew George12/06/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Holmes12/06/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones12/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Rudi Vis17/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Brian Jenkins18/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Ian Gibson18/06/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/06/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford19/06/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Ann Cryer20/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Colin Burgon23/06/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Frank Cook23/06/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell23/06/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Main23/06/2008St AlbansConservativeSigned
David Chaytor24/06/2008Bury NorthLabourSigned
Danny Alexander25/06/2008Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock25/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz25/06/2008Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/06/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Leech26/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Soulsby26/06/2008Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Nick Ainger30/06/2008Carmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Roger Berry30/06/2008KingswoodLabourSigned
Gavin Strang30/06/2008Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
John Grogan01/07/2008SelbyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Evan Harris03/07/2008Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson03/07/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
John Hemming08/07/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow10/07/2008Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins16/07/2008Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Lyn Brown16/07/2008West HamLabourSigned
Martin Salter06/10/2008Reading WestLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott12/11/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.