Parliament Website

Jersey Referendum On Double Daylight Saving Hours

EDM number 1860 in 2007-08, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 23/06/2008.

That this House calls on the Government to note Jersey's announcement to call a referendum on the consideration of adopting double British summertime; notes that Jersey rightly recognises the health, environmental and economic benefits of lighter evenings; asks the Government to consult with interested parties in light of growing support for the campaign for double daylight hours; and further notes that benefits such as less road traffic accidents, increased children's health, increased opportunity for sporting activity and the advantages for British tourism are all to be recognised.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle23/06/2008ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby23/06/2008Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Bob Spink23/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Robert Key24/06/2008SalisburyConservativeSeconded
Greg Knight24/06/2008East YorkshireConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders24/06/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Gregory Campbell24/06/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Janet Anderson24/06/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Joan Humble25/06/2008Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea25/06/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Chris McCafferty25/06/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones25/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Simpson25/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Greg Pope26/06/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley26/06/2008City of YorkLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss26/06/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
David Laws26/06/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
John Horam01/07/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
John McDonnell01/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn02/07/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Wilshire02/07/2008SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins03/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner14/07/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/10/2008MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.