Parliament Website


EDM number 2018 in 2007-08, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 10/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Countryside, Farmers, Food and Service industries.

That this House calls for the launch of local food procurement policies to be imposed on supermarkets, schools, universities and hospitals; further calls on the Government to encourage supermarkets to commit themselves to local competition policies to promote local self-reliance, regeneration of local communities and sustainable local economy; further calls for taxes on supermarket food to be based on the road and air miles that stock travels to encourage local sourcing; and notes that the current supermarket code of practice requires legal strengthening by the appointment of an independent ombudsman to secure and regulate fair trade between supermarkets and local suppliers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle10/07/2008ChorleyLabourProposed
Nigel Evans10/07/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
David Crausby10/07/2008Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
David Taylor14/07/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton15/07/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Meale15/07/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell15/07/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Drew15/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Ann Winterton15/07/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis16/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies16/07/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Leech16/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/07/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/07/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/07/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson16/07/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Adam Price16/07/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson17/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins17/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean17/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
John Battle17/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams17/07/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope21/07/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams21/07/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/10/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Borrow06/10/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Janet Anderson07/10/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.