Parliament Website

International Criminal Court

EDM number 2057 in 2007-08, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 16/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and International law.

That this House celebrates the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Rome Statute, which resulted in the setting up of the International Criminal Court (ICC); welcomes the ratification of the Rome Statute by 106 state parties; congratulates the United Kingdom for leading the efforts to set up the ICC and to end impunity for individuals responsible for international crimes; believes that ending impunity for these crimes, which by their very nature demean humanity, must be a priority for every state; calls on the international community to do more to assist the ICC, including ensuring that relevant cases are tried in national courts, so that there are no safe havens for such criminals; requests that the United Nations Security Council considers whether further referrals should be made to the ICC; and continues to support the work of the ICC against individuals accused of international crimes, including the current Sudanese President Hassan Ahmad al-Bashir for genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes in Darfur.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Ann Clwyd16/07/2008Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Richard Burden16/07/2008Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSeconded
John Bercow16/07/2008BuckinghamConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn16/07/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Tom Brake16/07/2008Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor16/07/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice16/07/2008PendleLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/07/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/07/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Angela Smith16/07/2008Sheffield, HillsboroughLabourSigned
Linda Riordan16/07/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins17/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
John Hemming17/07/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley17/07/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry17/07/2008BanburyConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock17/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton17/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/07/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson17/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter21/07/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams21/07/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/07/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard21/07/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Bill Etherington21/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce21/07/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty21/07/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/07/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson21/07/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore21/07/2008HendonLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
John Leech22/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson22/07/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Andrew George22/07/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty22/07/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/07/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Levitt22/07/2008High PeakLabourSigned
David Borrow06/10/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Willie Rennie06/10/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lepper14/10/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/10/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.