Parliament Website

Vet Microchipping

EDM number 2060 in 2007-08, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 16/07/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Animals.

That this House strongly encourages the use of microchips as the preferred means of permanent identification for domestic pets; acknowledges that the microchip system can only be fully effective if animals are scanned regularly, which is particularly the case for pets that have been stolen and sold on; commends and fully supports the work of Vets Get Scanning, its founder Debbie Matthews and patron Bruce Forsyth CBE, who have campaigned tirelessly in encouraging all veterinary practices to scan routinely all new patients and retrieved and rescued animals to ensure that no chip remains undetected and that known chips remain functional; and endorses the work of the Microchip Advisory Group and Petlog on their success in helping to return hundreds of lost and stolen dogs and cats to their rightful owners.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell16/07/2008RomfordConservativeProposed
Peter Ainsworth16/07/2008East SurreyConservativeSeconded
Bill Wiggin16/07/2008LeominsterConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle16/07/2008ChorleyLabourSeconded
Geraldine Smith16/07/2008Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSeconded
Angela Watkinson16/07/2008UpminsterConservativeSeconded
Nigel Evans16/07/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins17/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray17/07/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Drew17/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/07/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson17/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/07/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington21/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore21/07/2008HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/07/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/07/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew George22/07/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff06/10/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael09/10/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss16/10/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton22/10/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey30/10/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.