Parliament Website

Inshore Fisheries And The 10 Metre And Under Fleet

EDM number 22 in 2007-08, proposed by Bill Wiggin on 06/11/2007.
Categorised under the topic of Fisheries.

That this House expresses deep concern in the way in which the Government has managed fish quota for the 10 metre and under fleet; notes that the 10 metre and under fleet is allocated only two to three per cent. of the UK's total amount of quota despite constituting over three-quarters of the number of fishing vessels; further notes the hardship that many inshore fishermen and their families have endured, in particular in 2007, as a consequence of not being allocated a sufficient amount of quota; recognises that the use of in-year and cross-year quota swaps are not a long-term solution to the quota shortage affecting inshore fishermen; further recognises the sustainable fishing practices adopted by vessels in the 10 metre and under fleet; and calls upon the Government to ensure that the quota allocations for the 10 metre and under fleet are fairer in 2008.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Bill Wiggin06/11/2007LeominsterConservativeProposed
Peter Ainsworth06/11/2007East SurreyConservativeSeconded
James Paice06/11/2007South East CambridgeshireConservativeSeconded
Gregory Barker06/11/2007Bexhill and BattleConservativeSeconded
Anne McIntosh06/11/2007Vale of YorkConservativeSeconded
Richard Benyon06/11/2007NewburyConservativeSeconded
Simon Burns06/11/2007West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Peter Luff07/11/2007Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley07/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell07/11/2007East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tim Loughton07/11/2007East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis07/11/2007New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Colin Breed08/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray08/11/2007North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Derek Conway12/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton12/11/2007MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Jones12/11/2007Clwyd WestConservativeSigned
Mark Lancaster13/11/2007North East Milton KeynesConservativeSigned
John Whittingdale13/11/2007Maldon and East ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Baldry13/11/2007BanburyConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss14/11/2007North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Peter Atkinson14/11/2007HexhamConservativeSigned
Ben Wallace14/11/2007Lancaster and WyreConservativeSigned
Michael Penning14/11/2007Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Michael Mates15/11/2007East HampshireConservativeSigned
John Horam20/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Iris Robinson28/11/2007StrangfordDUPSigned
Andrew Rosindell28/11/2007RomfordConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds28/11/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Christopher Fraser28/11/2007South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter04/12/2007South West DevonConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous07/01/2008South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson20/05/2008East AntrimDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.