Parliament Website

Sale Of Tobacco Products To Under 18 Year Olds

EDM number 235 in 2007-08, proposed by Emily Thornberry on 13/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers and Smoking.

That this House welcomes the increased legal minimum age of sale for tobacco products from 16 to 18 years of age; notes that, according to a recent survey by the British Retail Consortium, retail crime has increased by 50 per cent.; notes retailers' concern that they may face intimidation or violence as a result of the change and that smaller independent retailers are at greatest risk; further notes that fixed penalty notices can be issued to those under the age of 18 years who attempt to buy alcohol; considers that if it was an offence for those under the age of 18 years to attempt to purchase tobacco this would act as a deterrent to children from doing so and relieve pressure on shop owners and reduce potential violence; and calls upon the Government to bring forward proposals to bring into line the legal penalties for the attempted purchase of tobacco with that of alcohol as well as increasing support in all areas for under 18s to quit smoking.

This motion has been signed by a total of 74 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Emily Thornberry13/11/2007Islington South and FinsburyLabourProposed
Stephen Pound13/11/2007Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma13/11/2007Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Sharon Hodgson13/11/2007Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSeconded
Karen Buck13/11/2007Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSeconded
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan14/11/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
Phil Willis14/11/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley14/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock14/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton14/11/2007MidlothianLabourSigned
Andrew George14/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis14/11/2007AberavonLabourSigned
David Clelland14/11/2007Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell14/11/2007East LondonderryDUPSigned
Chris McCafferty14/11/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Peter Luff14/11/2007Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
David Lepper14/11/2007Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice14/11/2007PendleLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Taylor15/11/2007Esher and WaltonConservativeSigned
Katy Clark15/11/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Keith Vaz15/11/2007Leicester EastLabourSigned
Ian Gibson15/11/2007Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore15/11/2007HendonLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Mullin15/11/2007Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/11/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Lyn Brown19/11/2007West HamLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/11/2007Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Berry20/11/2007KingswoodLabourSigned
Betty Williams20/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Tim Farron20/11/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope21/11/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Jim Devine21/11/2007LivingstonLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis21/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/11/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Ruane21/11/2007Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Frank Doran21/11/2007Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh22/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed22/11/2007LoughboroughLabourSigned
Jim Dowd22/11/2007Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Clive Betts22/11/2007Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
Paul Truswell22/11/2007PudseyLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner26/11/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Diane Abbott27/11/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Alan Beith27/11/2007Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Dari Taylor27/11/2007Stockton SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes28/11/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mike Wood28/11/2007Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Julie Morgan28/11/2007Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Iris Robinson28/11/2007StrangfordDUPSigned
Christopher Huhne03/12/2007EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Claire Curtis-Thomas03/12/2007CrosbyLabourSigned
Marsha Singh05/12/2007Bradford WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil06/12/2007Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
Albert Owen11/12/2007Ynys MLabourSigned
Eric Illsley13/12/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey18/12/2007West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Joan Humble07/01/2008Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby17/01/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Doug Naysmith07/02/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David MarshallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.