Parliament Website


EDM number 2436 in 2007-08, proposed by David Taylor on 06/11/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial health and safety.

That this House recognises the efforts of the Association of British Insurers and the Government to improve the success rate of the voluntary code of practice for tracing employers' liability insurers; notes that, according to latest figures, there are still around 5,000 cases a year where these traces fail to produce a successful result; is deeply concerned that many of these failed traces will prevent people with diseases such as mesothelioma from claiming compensation; further notes that deaths in England from mesothelioma continue to increase; and calls on the Government to establish a compulsory central electronic database for employers' liability insurance policies, supported by a special fund to act as insurer of last resort for those people who cannot trace historic policies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

David Taylor06/11/2008North West LeicestershireLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn06/11/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John Leech10/11/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore10/11/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Andrew Pelling10/11/2008Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
David Drew10/11/2008StroudLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/11/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley11/11/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lynne Jones11/11/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/11/2008GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer11/11/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan11/11/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell12/11/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/11/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Dai Davies12/11/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Michael Clapham13/11/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins13/11/2008TamworthLabourSigned
John Pugh13/11/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/11/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams17/11/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jim Devine17/11/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle18/11/2008Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell18/11/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Doran18/11/2008Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell18/11/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith20/11/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
David Anderson20/11/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Gavin Strang20/11/2008Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington20/11/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp24/11/2008Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
David Heyes25/11/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris Mullin25/11/2008Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner25/11/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.