Parliament Website

Recent Attacks Against Christians In Orissa

EDM number 2556 in 2007-08, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 25/11/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House is deeply disturbed by the systematic attacks perpetrated against the Christian community in Kandhamal and other districts of Orissa state in India following the deplorable assassination of Swami Lakhmananda Saraswati, which has been characterised by brutal murder, arson, destruction of Christian institutions and places of worship, looting of property and retributive rape and which has resulted in a significant number of deaths; notes the European Parliament Resolution of 24th September 2008 which expresses deep concern at the recent attacks on Christians in Orissa; takes note of reports that Christians in the area have been coerced into renouncing their faith; observes that anti-Christian violence has intensified in other states since the outbreak in Orissa; strongly condemns the violence; further notes that no effective prosecutorial action was brought after an outbreak of anti-Christian violence in Kandhamal district in December 2007; further notes that relatively few complaints have been registered by police in Orissa and that the capacity of the police force to investigate the violence is very limited; calls for bilateral representations to be made to the Indian government to call for the restoration of peace and stability in Orissa and the bringing to justice of inciters and perpetrators of the violence; and asks the Government to consider what assistance the UK may offer for relief and rehabilitation and addressing the root causes of the violence.

This motion has been signed by a total of 9 MPs.

Virendra Sharma25/11/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Mark Pritchard25/11/2008The WrekinConservativeSeconded
Peter Luff25/11/2008Mid WorcestershireConservativeSeconded
Jim Dobbin25/11/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Paul Burstow25/11/2008Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Goodman25/11/2008WycombeConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink25/11/2008Castle PointIndependentSigned
Lindsay Hoyle25/11/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.