Parliament Website

Remploy Compromise Programme

EDM number 421 in 2007-08, proposed by John McDonnell on 28/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Equality, Manufacturing industries and Unemployment.

That this House urges the Government to adopt the Remploy Compromise Programme to ensure the successful future of Remploy in order to prevent the need for the proposed large scale programme of factory closures; welcomes the programme which includes a restructuring of the company, particularly management structures, to make it fit for purpose to exploit the opportunities for new business from local and national public procurement, the replacement of the board of directors with individuals with a proven track record of commitment to the core principles of Remploy as an employer of workers with disabilities and of operating effectively in a commercial environment, the immediate re-engagement within the National Trade Union Consortium for meaningful discussions on cost savings, the appointment of two trade union directors elected by the workforce and the engagement with local and national public bodies able to provide work for appointed employers such as Remploy through public procurement; and further calls for a full moratorium on any factory closures to give time for the Compromise Programme to take effect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

John McDonnell28/11/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley28/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore29/11/2007HendonLabourSeconded
David Drew29/11/2007StroudLabourSeconded
Ian Gibson29/11/2007Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton29/11/2007GowerLabourSeconded
Janet Dean29/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
John Grogan03/12/2007SelbyLabourSigned
John Leech03/12/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark03/12/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mark Durkan03/12/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dennis Skinner03/12/2007BolsoverLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/12/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/12/2007Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma05/12/2007Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Rudi Vis06/12/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Hemming10/12/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington10/12/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson10/12/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/12/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale11/12/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
David Anderson11/12/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
Bob Laxton12/12/2007Derby NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor12/12/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
George Mudie13/12/2007Leeds EastLabourSigned
John Austin18/12/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
George Howarth07/01/2008Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Robert Wareing07/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Colin Burgon07/01/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Clare Short07/01/2008Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Martin Salter07/01/2008Reading WestLabourSigned
Claire Curtis-Thomas14/01/2008CrosbyLabourSigned
Louise Ellman21/01/2008Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Andy Reed24/01/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
George Galloway04/02/2008Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas18/02/2008DagenhamLabourSigned
Joe Benton19/02/2008BootleLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.