Parliament Website

Government Response To Coastal Town Report

EDM number 45 in 2007-08, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 06/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Housing, Incomes and poverty, Pay and Regional planning and development.

That this House commends the hard work of the Communities and Local Government Select Committee and its Report on Coastal Towns; notes with disappointment the response to the Report by the Government; further notes that the only recommendations the Government has agreed to involve no action by the Government; and believes that the Government has wasted a perfect opportunity to address the common problems faced by a number of coastal towns, including lack of affordable housing, geographic isolation, high benefit uptake and low wage seasonal employment, among many factors highlighted in the Report.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Adrian Sanders06/11/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George06/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Williams06/11/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley07/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Gregory Campbell07/11/2007East LondonderryDUPSeconded
John Leech08/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Pugh08/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake08/11/2007Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed08/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway12/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey13/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea14/11/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Phil Willis14/11/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy15/11/2007Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Roger Williams19/11/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson19/11/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady21/11/2007South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Rowen21/11/2007RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson28/11/2007StrangfordDUPSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.